ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES

FOURTEENTH SESSION OF THE AUTHORITY OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT ABUJA, 4 – 6 JULY 1991

DECLARATION A/DCL.1/7/91 OF POLITICAL PRINCIPLES OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES

WE, HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES (ECOWAS),

MEETING in Authority in Abuja, Federal Republic of Nigeria on 4,5 and 6 July 1991;

COMMITTED to the imperative of upholding the ideals of the Treaty establishing ECOWAS;

DETERMINED to realize the aims and objectives of ECOWAS especially the integration of the countries of our sub-region through the harmonization of our national economic, social and political policies;

REAFFIRMING the objectives of promoting better relations among ourselves by ensuring a stable and secure political environment, in which our peoples can live in freedom under the law and in true and lasting peace, free from any threat to or attempt against their security, in which we can pursue a speedy and effective realization of the objectives of ECOWAS;

DETERMINED to concert our efforts to promote democracy in the sub-region on the basis of political pluralism and respect for fundamental human rights as embodied in universally recognized international instruments on human rights and in the African Charter on Human and Peoples Rights;

DEEPLY CONSCIOUS of the rapidly changing international political and economic landscape in favour of a resurgence of economic regionalism which imposes on the Members of ECOWAS a special awareness of the need to intensify and strengthen their own integration efforts and to resist all forms of foreign interference aimed at undermining their solidarity and integration efforts;

DETERMINED, therefore, to consult among ourselves more regularly and harmonize our approaches to and strategies for dealing with all international economic issues with a view to adopting common policies and enhancing our international negotiating positions;

HEREBY DECLARE our full adherence to the following principles in order to enhance the prospects of advancing our economic cooperation and integration in a political environment of peace, security and stability:

 We reaffirm the provisions of the Protocol on Non-Aggression adopted on 22 April 1978 and our commitment to securing peace and maintaining stability in the ECOWAS sub-region by promoting increasingly better relations among ourselves, strengthening good neighborliness and ensuring conditions in which our peoples can live in freedom under the law and in true and lasting peace, free from any threat to or against their security.

- 2. We reaffirm our determination to refrain in our mutual relations, as well as in out international relations in general, from any threat or use of forces, directly or indirectly, against the territorial integrity or political independence of any Member State.
- 3. We reaffirm also our determination to settle all disputes among ourselves by peaceful means in such a manner as not to endanger the peace, security and stability of our sub-region.
- 4. We will respect human rights and fundamental freedoms in all their plentitude including in particular freedom of thought, conscience, association, religion or belief for all our peoples without distinction as to race, sex, language or creed.
- 5. We will promote and encourage the full enjoyment by all our peoples of their fundamental human rights, especially their political, economic, social, cultural and other rights inherent in the dignity of the human person and essential to his free and progressive development.
- 6. We believe in the liberty of the individual and in his inalienable right to participate by means of free and democratic processes in the framing of the society in which he lives. We will therefore strive to encourage and promote in each our countries, political pluralism and those representative institutions and guarantees for personal safety and freedom under the law that are our common heritage.
- 7. We reaffirm our determination to speak with one voice under the aegis of ECOWAS on all international issues which touch and concern the vital interests of our development and prosperity. We will therefore resist any attempt by forces outside our sub-region to undermine the expression of our collective will and determination.
- 8. We rededicate ourselves and reaffirm our collective determination to take all necessary measures to ensure the speedy and effective realization of the aims and objectives enshrined in the ECOWAS Treaty and related instruments and to fulfill in good faith all our obligations under them.

IN FAITH WHEREOF, WE, THE HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES (ECOWAS) HAVE SIGNED THIS DECLARATION.

DONE AT ABUJA, THIS 6TH DAY OF JULY IN SINGLE ORIGINAL IN ENGLISH AND FRENCH, BOTH TEXTS BEING EQUALLY AUTHENTIC.

H.E. Mr. Nicephore Disudonne SOGLO President of the Republic of BENIN

.....

H.E. Alhaji Dawda Kairaba JAMARA President of the Republic of the GAMBIA

.....

Hon. Mr. Frederic A. KORSAGA

Minister of Finance and Planning For and on behalf of the President of FASO, Head of Government

Hon. Alhaji Mahama IDDRISSU

Member of the Provisional National Defence Council (PNDC) of the Republic of GHANA, for and on behalf of the Head of State of the Republic of GHANA

H.E. Carlos Wahanon de Carvalho VEIGA

Prime Minister and Minister of Defence, for and on behalf of the President of the Republic of CAPE VERDE

H.E. General Lansana CONTE

Chairman of the Transitional Council for National Recovery of the Republic of GUINEA

Hon. Mr. Essy MARA

Minister of Foreign Affairs for and on behalf of the President of the Republic of COTE D'IVOIRE H.E. General Joso Bernardo VIEIRA President of the Republic of GUINEA BISSAU

H.E. Prof. Amos C. SAWYER

President of the Interim Government of National Unity of LIBERIA

.....

H.E. General Ibrahim Badamasi BABANGIDA President, Commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of NIGERIA

H.E. Lt. Col. Amadou Toumani TOURE

Chairman of the Peoples Redemption Transitional Committee, Head of State of the Republic of MALI

H.E. Mr. Abdou DIOUF President of the Republic of

SENEGAL

Hon. Sidi Mohamed Ould BOUBACAR

.....

Minister of Finance, for and on behalf of the President of the Islamic Republic of MAURITANIA

H.E. General Joseph Saidu MOMOH President of the Republic of SIERRA LEONE

H.E. Mr. Mahamidou ALIOU

Prime Minister, for and on behalf of the President of the Republic of NIGER

.....

Ho. Mr. Yagninin BITOKOTIPOU

Minister of Justice, for and on behalf of the President of the TOGOLESE REPUBLIC