Apply Now
Focal Points

Focal Points

Every EU Member State and partner country has a Focal Point for election observation related matters, either within their own Ministry of Foreign Affairs or in a related external agency. The Focal Points are responsible for the recruitment and proposal of their country’s candidates for selection as Short-Term and Long-Term Observers to EU Election Observation Missions.

They are involved with the pre-selection of candidates for EODS long term observers trainings and some offer their own training opportunities in their countries. They organise briefings and offer various kinds of information to potential observers. Their contact details are in this list and in the map below:



Mr. Stephan Rutkowski
Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs Department I.7, Human Rights
Minoritenplatz 8, A-1014 Vienna
Email Telephone Fax +43(0)5011504549 NA


Mr. Denis Valois
PFS Foreign Affairs - S3.1 Conflict Prevention and Peace Building Desk
15 Rue des Petits Carmes / Karmelietenstraat, B-1000 Brussels
Email Telephone Fax

+3225018957 NA
Human Resources Directorate
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Bulgaria
2 Alexander Zhendov Street, 1040 Sofia
Email Telephone Fax +35929482845 NA
Ms. Ivana Lončar Pavlinić
Department for Human Rights and International regional organizations and initiatives
Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs
Trg N. Š. Zrinjskog 7-8, 10 000 Zagreb
Email Telephone Fax +38514569841 NA
Mrs. Eleni Apeyitou
Department of Multilateral Relations and International Organizations (C1)
Directorate of Political Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Presidential Palace Avenue | 1447, Nicosia, Cyprus
Email Telephone Fax +35722651143  NA
Mr. Jan Kaminek
Mr. Jan Latal
(Deputy to Mr. Kaminek)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs - Dep. for Human Rights
Loretanske namesti 5, 118 00 Praha 1
Email Telephone Fax
Mr. Anders Skovsø (MFA)
Ms Anna Cecilie Varnild (NIRAS/FSB)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs - Stabilisation and Security Policy
Asiatisk Plads 2; DK 1448 Copenhagen
3rd floor, NIRAS/FSB Bredgade 30, DK-1260 Copenhagen
Email Telephone Fax
+4533920623 | +45 50778666
+4533920000 | +45 24690632
+4532540533 | +4548104300
Ms. Kirsti Toomemets
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
Personnel Development and International Personnel Policy Division
Islandi väljak 1
15049 Tallinn
Email Telephone Fax +3726377181 +3726377398
Ms. May-Len Svenskberg, Ms. Tuula Cowen
Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Unit for Security Policy and Crisis Management - Political Department
Laivastokatu 22.C, P.O.Box 420 - FI-00023 Valtioneuvosto
Email Telephone Fax
Mr. Pascal Delumeau
Ministère des Affaires étrangères
Direction des Nations unies, des Organisations internationales des Droits de l'Homme et de la Francophonie
Délégation des Fonctionnaires Internationaux
57 boulevard des Invalides, 75700 Paris, 07 SP
Email Telephone Fax NA +33153693799
Ms. Rebecca Meier
Zentrum für Internationale Friedenseinsätze (ZIF) gGmbH
Ludwigkirchplatz 3-4, 10719 Berlin - Deutschland
Email Telephone Fax +4930 5200565-43 +4930520056590
Mr. Ioannis Mallikourtis
Ministry of Foreign Affairs – Athens
A6 Directorate (Northern Africa, Middle East, Iran and Iraq)
A8 Directorate (Latin America & the Caribbean)
A9 Directorate (Sub-Saharan Africa)
A10 Directorate (Asia and Oceania)
Email Telephone Fax
Ms. Anna BIRÓ-KEREKES, Ms. Éva Császár
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Hungary
and Trade of Hungary Departement
for Security for Policy and Non- Proliferatio
Bem rkp 47 - 1027 Budapest
Email Telephone Fax


+361457 5039
Mr. Patrick McLoughlin, Mr. John Crowe
Irish Aid | Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Riverstone House, 23-27 Henry Street - Limerick
Email Telephone Fax
Ms. Maria Luisa Bartolucci
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Directorate General for Political and Security Affairs
European Foreign Affairs and Security Division
Piazzale della Farnesina 1, I-00194 Roma
Email Telephone Fax +390636913860 NA
Ms Lilita Cirule
Ministry of Foreign Affairs - Personnel Department
Kr. Valdemara street 3, LV-1395 Riga
Email Telephone Fax


Ms Ieva Arlauskienė, Ms Agnė Kriščiūnaitė
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Personnel Management and Secondment Department
Selection and Secondment Division
J. Tumo-Vaižganto g. 2, LT-01511 Vilnius
Email Telephone Fax
Mr. Laurent Weyland
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Political and European Affairs - EOM focal point
5, rue Notre-Dame, L-2240 Luxembourg
Email Telephone Fax

+35224782314 NA

Mr. Alessandro Giuliano
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malta
Directorate Global Issues
Palazzo Parisio, Merchant Street - VLT1171 Valletta

Email Telephone Fax


Mr. Jacek Jankowski
Ms. Anna Raduchowska-Brochwicz
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Political Director`s Office
Al. J. Ch. Szucha 23, PL-00-580 Warsaw
Email Telephone Fax
Mr. José Luis Coelho da Silva
Ms. Eunice Vasco

Ministério dos Negócios Estrangeiros, Directorate-general for External Policy
Largo do Rilvas, P-1399-030 Lisboa
Email Telephone Fax +351213946000 NA
Ms. Viorica Vasiliu
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Romania
Directorate for OSCE, Council of Europe, Human Rights, Asymmetric Risks and Nonproliferation
Aleea Alexandru nr. 31, Sector 1 - 011822 Bucharest
Email Telephone Fax +40214311105 +40213192367
Ms. Miriam Joklova
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Human Rights and Council of Europe Department
Hlboka cesta 2, 833 36 Bratislava 37
Email Telephone Fax +42125978 3783 NA
Mrs Sonja Slovša Končan
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Prešernova ulica 25, SI-1000 Ljubljana
Email Telephone Fax +38614782180 +38614782335
Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores y Cooperación
Oficina Derechos Humanos
Focal Point for Human Rights Defenders
Edificio Torres Ágora, Calle Serrano Galvache, 26 - E-28033 Madrid
Email Telephone Fax +34913799504 +34913799504

Ms. Sofia Hedlund
Folke Bernadotte Academy
Visiting address: Drottning Kristinas väg 37, Stockholm, Sweden
Postal address: Sandövägen 1, SE-872 64 Sandöverken, Sweden

Email Telephone Fax

+46104562300 NA

Ms. Marianne Gerber, Focal Point EOM
Mr. Jost Herrmann, Deputy Focal Point EOM
Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA)
Swiss Expert Pool for Civilian Peacebuilding
Bundesgasse 32 - CH-3003 Berne

Email Telephone Fax


+41 58 463 89 22
Ms. Betty Spijkers
Ms. Sonja Kulp
Ministry of Foreign Affairs,
3W | WorldWide Working
Civil MIssions and Election Monitoring
The Hague, The Netherlands
Email Telephone Fax
+31703485970 NA
Norwegian Refugee Council
Prinsensgate 2 (Map)
0152 Oslo
Email Telephone Fax +4792015070 NA
Jul 26
Vacancies for the EU EOM LESOTHO 2022 Deputy Chief Observer

The European Commission wishes to initiate the sel...

Jul 26
Vacancies for the EU EOM LESOTHO 2022 Core Team

The European Commission wishes to initiate the sel...